Sculpture Showroom

Glasgow International Festival of Visual Art @ Glasgow Sculpture Studios,
20th April – 7th May 2018

Opening hours: Monday – Saturday 12 – 5pm, Sunday 12 – 4pm

For Gi 2018, Sculpture Placement Group are presenting Sculpture Showroom – an adoption service for sculptural objects, seeking to match works of art with new guardians.

For this project Sculpture Placement Group are working with artists to identify sculptural works in long-term storage with no current future. A selection of works will be displayed in mock environments designed by the artists and a larger number of works are available within the project’s accompanying catalogue. All works are available for adoption and visitors can discuss their specific sculptural needs with staff who can set the adoption process in motion. Sculpture Showroom will bring sculptural joy into people’s daily lives, meanwhile testing a new model for circulating artworks, increasing access to art ownership and alleviating artists of the economic and practical pressures of storage and space.

Sculpture Showroom will act as a pilot for SPG’s ongoing Sculpture Adoption Scheme and is launched as part of Glasgow International Festival of Visual Art 2018. There are 95 works by 54 artists currently offered for adoption and these are presented within a catalogue and exhibition. All works included are available for adoption during the festival and beyond.

Artists taking part are:

The exhibition includes: Laura Aldridge with Anna Mayer, Beagles and Ramsay, Mary Redmond, Andrew Lacon, Rachel Lowther, Nick Evans, Felix Welch and Littlewhitehead.

The catalogue includes: Alex Allan, Beth Shapeero, Tom Alan, Daisy Richardson, Jennifer Wicks, Laura Aldridge & Anna Mayer, Laura Aldridge, Tessa Lynch, Victoria Evans, Cate Newton, Catalina Barroso-Luque, Helen Shaddock, Tim Sandys, Louise Gibson, Allison and Bray, Thom Rees, Beagles & Ramsay, Oona Wilkinson, Craig Coulthard, Nick Evans, Louise Barrington, Graham Fagen, James McLardy, Ally Wallace, Raymond Strachan, Zsofia Jakab, Marcin Krupa, Alys Owen, Littlewhitehead, Elaine Allison, Arieh Frosh, Janie Nicoll, Joseph Buckley, Jolanta Dolewska, Elke Finkenauer, David Sherry, Laura Buttons, Oliver Braid, WeiKeong Tan, Lada Wilson, Mary Redmond, Rachel Barron, Andrew Lacon, Emma Pratt, Felix Welch, Corrie Thomson, Rae-Yen Song, Kevin Andrew Morris, Ellie Harrison, Graeme Durant, Leontios Toumpouris, Hannah Imlach, Kate V Robertson, Toby Paterson, Rachel Lowther, Ilana Halperin and Jock Mooney.

To learn more about the Sculpture Adoption Scheme or apply to be part of it follow this link:

Sculpture Adoption Scheme

See photos of the adoptions completed so far